Social Media and Human Living

Argh! *stretches fingers*

Yes it has been a while I wrote anything on here, like I just took a vacation right? I must really apologize to everyone that was (and hopefully is still and would continue to) follow(ing) this blog that I am sorry to have left this place this way. I truly have no excuses whatsoever. I have been just lazzzzzy! But I am getting my act together, yes I am.

As you may have noticed if you quite follow me on social media and know me personally, I am somebody who is quite passionate about social media and its uses. From some of my Facebook posts, to my tweets and even my snaps (yeah I just joined, add me up @tobiange), I often talk about this. I believe that social media is powerful. In fact it is the greatest tool of the 21st century. The power of social media is brought to light in the most recent events here in Nigeria where a teenager was abducted from her home state and taken elsewhere to be married off.  It was through social media that an outcry was raised and the girl was rescued from the evil hands of her abductor to her parents. You can read about it from here. This goes on to show that, really, social media is an effective tool for creating a ripple of events that lead to a desirable end.

flower vase and phone

Although social media has is up sides, like a coin, it also has its demons. The use of social media for instance, during work hours, is responsible for a drop in performance. In a survey 36 % of people said that social networking was the biggest waste of time in comparison to activities like fantasy football, shopping, and watching television. Jared Wade also has this to say:

Another issue that comes up constantly whenever I discuss social media risks with executives is decreased worker productivity. To many, this seems to be the largest drawback to social media. In their eyes, workers who previously toiled away for the duration of their eight-hour shift are now so enthralled by Facebook and Twitter that they simply cannot help but peruse the sites constantly throughout the day. While they are doing that, of course, they aren’t getting any work done. Less work equals less production, which equals lower profits.

Another obvious downside to the use of social media is the disconnect from reality its users become trapped in. Often times while viewing people’s stories on Snapchat, I can only imagine how some of these folks manage to balance their consistent and constant snapping with real life interactions. I may even find myself worrying for their family, marriage, work or spiritual living because they are also so active with social media! How the heck do they cope? Life has so much more to offer if we disconnected a little bit longer, really.

But the point of this post is to say this:

At the end of the day, how you use social media depends on you. It is a tool after all.

So the onus lies on the user. The blame is not on Snapchat, Twitter or whatever other social network is out there but on the individual who decides to spend endless hours on it and end up non-productive. The other day I read a post on Medium of a user narrating on why he uninstalled a couple of social networking apps from his device. The power is in your hands. Don’t go on and say that scrolling through your Facebook timeline is addictive. No, its you who is giving it that power. As humans we tend to ascribe power to external sources when we fail but ascribe the credit to ourselves when we succeed. Funny beings we are. Nah don’t be like the average person, strive to be better!bag-and-hands.jpg

This is a wake up call to everyone out there with similar cries (including yours truly), simply get your act together! (Although to be honest its not that simple). If you believe these parting words of a poem by William Ernest Henley, say them out loud with me:

It matters not how strait the gate,
How charged with punishments the scroll.
I am the master of my fate:
I am the captain of my soul.

I’m done writing, for now that is. But I would like to hear your thoughts. What practical advice can you share for managing the use of social media? Are you passing through the same experience? How have you or how are you dealing with it? Please do share your thoughts in the comments box below. I am looking forward to reading them! :)

Gbemisola Oluwatobi

@tobigbemisola

2 thoughts on “Social Media and Human Living

Leave a Reply

